Dear Mo

Dear Mo,

Unfortunately, you are right. We bigguns are a thick bunch. If I am to tell your tails I am going to have to take more of your voice out and make the sentences the pristine easy reads that we bigguns find so admirable. I mean, we can’t have our children spelling mouse instead of human.  And if adults can’t understand it, of course our children won’t.

I tried to keep as much of your cadence as I could in your writings but they were still too hard for our ethnophobic readership. I will keep looking into this though. I am sure that there are those out there that have found the balance of keeping someone’s voice present while interpreting for the basic biggun need for things to fit into certain molds to be acceptable. I will keep doing some exploring and then, perhaps, I will be able to get your words out into the world.

Please leave me a bit of guidance in this. I have never tried to write from mouse before so don’t have any guides to turn to for help in getting this interpretation right. If you know of any other writings I might be able to look up and use for a comparative study, I would appreciate the input. I was amazed to hear your relative’s input in the story of Gulliver’s Travels. I can’t help but wonder if one of yours helped with The Borrowers series too. I mean who could really believe people could be that small and live in the walls of a house?

Why, it is easier to believe a mouse could write. Especially when I have this evidence right here in front of me.

If you would be so kind, please leave me more stories of you and your friend, Ro. I don’t have much regard for mice and cockroaches for the most part, but you are helping me see things from a different perspective. I will always be grateful to your for that.

With the highest regard,
Your not so accomplished scribe,

Andie

Leave a comment