All is Quiet

“Sweet are the thoughts that savour of content,
The quiet mind is richer than a crown…”
― Robert Greene

Greetings or best wishes past, the day grows to a close. Life has gone on for those I love and I just didn’t have it in me to take in a movie alone. The air feels quiet around me. There is the sound of passing cars, the hum of the computer, the clicking sounds of the keys as I tap dance my words onto the screen. There is no music, no television in the background, no words. The whispers of melancholy come and go. Somehow they can’t get any rise out the quiet so look elsewhere for entertainment. I will sleep soon, my golden birthday done, never to come again.

But my home page on social media is full of memories as I look at the names of those who left a greeting. My best friend called from up where he lives and the whole group watching Canadian Idol together stopped to sing. Though, on the whole, it was an alone day. It wasn’t a lonely day. My eyes scanned the faces of the students I teach collaging them for our school remembrance book. Though within there is the small wish that some part of this day would have been spent with those I care for (My work day was even a professional development day with teachers I barely know), we had the fun of singing and playing instruments together. Perhaps new bridges have been built for us as we work together for our division in the coming years.

Today my mindful gift is this quiet inside, a settled feeling for a year well ended and the new one to come. A quiet as I let both stand at the edges while I live in this moment that is with both its joys and regrets, without censor. Just being in this now.

rest2

3 thoughts on “All is Quiet

  1. In the Stillness of Willow Hill

    Without censor. Simple words….but such a creative and long process! Undoing years of self-judgment is not for the faint-hearted. Shine on.

    Reply
    1. ljandrie57 Post author

      No, it isn’t. The thing I am learning though is to each joy each moment that is like that. It won’t always stay the same. What I am learning is to even be aware of when it is not at rest and just let that be. By not fighting the low points, they don’t seem to last as long.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

