Of Course!

“A good laugh overcomes more difficulties and dissipates more dark clouds than any other one thing.” – Laura Ingalls Wilder

“I think the next best thing to solving a problem is finding some humor in it.” – Frank A. Clark

The man with the real sense of humor is the man who can put himself in the spectator’s place and laugh at his own misfortunes. – Bert Williams

P1070399Monday was a holiday in Canada and my mindful gift for that day was the rain — outside, that is. Of course, later on Monday night would be when the garburator in my apartment sink decides to spring a leak on every side raining water down from the emptying sink. Grabbing the nearest container I place it under the curtain of drips. With sponge I sop up as much water from the floor as possible then find the number to call for help with the plumbing problem. Somehow, I deemed this an emergency, not a “general maintenance problem”.

IMG_4710bOf course, my managers number is an answering machine which gives me a pager number for emergencies which is an answering machine. About 1:40 the next afternoon I get the call from my manager who rings directly to my answering machine somehow so that my cell phone doesn’t even ring until almost 5. Of course, that is when they close their office for the day.

I’m on my way across town to repurchase the supplies for the table decorations needed Thursday that have disappeared somewhere between school, home, car and packed boxes. Pulling over to deal with the phone signal, I call back to respond to the message which says to let the manager know what is wrong with my garburator. Hmm! Not sure I can tell him much more than in the two messages I have already left. I get an answering machine so make that three messages.

IMG_4714Of course, I come home to my plastic bag still on my faucets – have to remind myself not to let any water in the sink for the sake of my neighbours downstairs – and the bowl of water is still sitting unmoved below the leak.

O well, it was a good opportunity to try some Chinese delivery food while I waited for the returned call that didn’t come. I guess I should check my answering machine again since my phone has no record of the other call that made it to my answering machine.

P1000014cpMy mindful gift today is a sense of humor that lets me see the joke in all this. I guess I better go out and get some more dowels for the flags I need to remake. Of course, that will be when a call comes in or someone decides to stop by and say they couldn’t get into my apartment to check the plumbing problem because I wasn’t home.

Did I tell you that I am moving in two to three weeks? Definitely good timing. I guess major emptying of a sink onto the floor isn’t called an emergency. Must be ongoing maintenance.

“If fate doesn’t make you laugh, you just don’t get the joke.”
― Gregory David Roberts

“A sense of humor is just common sense dancing.”
― William James

“All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.”
― Charles M. Schulz

“I refuse to answer that question on the grounds that I don’t know the answer”
― Douglas Adams

“From there to here, from here to there, funny things are everywhere!”
― Dr. Seuss, One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish

 

4 thoughts on “Of Course!

    1. ljandrie57 Post author

      I think it helped that it happened on a week that I was so busy with school things that I was away from 7 in the morning to 7 in the evening most days. I also think that in the scope of things that I have been dealing with in counseling, this was just one of those things to laugh about. It was concrete. It will have a solution, so it is one of those things that give themselves to humor.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

