Poems and prose as recovery begins April to August 1987

Skydancing
-April, 1987-

Skydancing
Dancing to the rhythm
Here inside me
Singing out a song
High soaring
High above the mountains
Skydancing
To an eagle’s song

Flying high
Wheeling to the rhythm
Sailing on
Into the sunset’s glow
Laying back
Floating on the northwind
Going places
Only eagles go

High strutting
Walking down the sidewalk
Houses around me
And the trees close in
But inside me
I still hear the music
And I’m dancing
Anywhere I am.

Flying high
Wheeling to the rhythm
Sailing on
Into the sunset’s glow
Laying back
Floating on the north wind
Going places
Only eagles go

Skysong
April, 1987

Open and free, going on to forever
Touching the world with its sunshine and rain
Home of the songbirds, palette for dreamers
Spangled with stars in a lover’s refrain.

Path of the eagle that flies over mountains
Lapped by the waves of an ocean so wide
Stage for the power of lightening magic
Open and free, there is nothing to hide

Coloured by sunshine, clothed by the clouds
Touching the mountains with sunset’s soft hues
Parting of the picture shining in dreams
Here touching me and yet there touching you

Colours are changing, hues rearranging
Sure to be trusted, yet never the same
The world all surrounding, beauty abounding
Touching all people with sunshine and rain

Questions
April 20, 1987

O where are you going?
Where have you been?
What did you see there?
Did you lose or win?
I’ve so many questions
But where do I start?
How do I ask you
What’s down in your heart?

I’m running from somewhere
I’m running – to where?
I’m running and asking of you
Do you care?
O where are you going?
Can I come along?
I’ll hold you and love you
And sing you my song.

O where are you going?
Where have you been?
What did you see there?
Did you lose or win?
I’ve so many questions
But where do I start?
How do I ask you
What’s down in your heart?

I’ll give you my sunshine
I’ll hold out my rain
I’ll touch you in sorrow
And help in your pain
Just hold me and love me
And tell me you care
And I? I will love you
And always be there.

O where are you going?
Where have you been?
What did you see there?
Did you lose or win?
I’ve so many questions
But where do I start?
How do I ask you
What’s down in your heart?

Renewal
23 April, 1987

Was it only yesterday
the trees were green and flowers tinged the plain
Was it only yesterday
we laughed and smiled—
and can we laugh again?

Was it only yesterday we talked together
stopped to plan and dream
Can the night be ending?
Is a new day dawning?
Are things as they seem?

Can this new tomorrow be
a day that’s even better than today
In my mind are questions
mixed with hope and fear
in joy and tears I pray:

Let this new tomorrow be a promise,
be a flower bright as flame
Let this new tomorrow be the start
of more tomorrows just the same.

Love Sneaks Through
29 April, 1987

 A touch of hope
a breath of understanding
A whisper of kindness
A tremble of shared pain

Even the greatest fortress
has tiny chinks
for love to sneak through.

A Song for You
April, 1987

A song for you with thanks for all you’ve
done for me
A fortress strong and lonely once
I used to be
But you reached out and touched me from
within your own pain
And hand in hand we both learned how to
Sing again.

My world was cold and stormy,
mighty crashing waves
Had taken all the love I knew,
hiding it away
My mighty walls began to crumble with
the strain of waves of fear and
mighty thunderings
of pain.

You touched my world with hope
when it was hard to smile
You shared with me your tears
You made my life worthwhile
Your love crept in so quietly
I was surprised
Yet hope began to bloom
The sun began to rise.

Goodbye
April 30, 1987
On release from the hospital

Today is the day I say “Goodbye”
I can hardly remember the day I came
I remember the numbness of bitterness there
It was hard to trust anyone to care
I hurt so much it was hard to cry
It was hard to hear through my inward lies

But today is the day I say “Goodbye!
I’m not at a place that is quite the same
When falling hurts now the tears can come
I can offer my hopes and fears to some
I can hear the voices that help me change
I can hold on to me and yet rearrange

I’ll be following treatment, there’s more to grow
I may stay again in the future, who knows?
But I’m somewhere that’s more than what once was me
And what I’ll become is worth waiting to see

Today is the day I say “Goodbye”
I harly remember the day I came
There is more I’ll be learning before this ends
That all is together I won’t pretend

But today is the day I say “Goodbye”
I’m not at aplace that is quite the same
Today I may stand and tomorrow may fall
But I’m going to make it after all

Going Home
August, 1987

Lord, I’m feeling weary
How much further to go
Where is the new tomorrow?
Lord, I wanna go home.

Only a little farther
Only a ways to go
Only a few more turnings
Lord, I wanna go home
Lord, I wanna go home

Drinking my cup of sorrow
Here in my shelter of joy
One more night of weeping
One more morning of joy

Only a little farther
Only a ways to go
Only a few more turnings
Lord, I wanna go home
Lord, I wanna go home

Then I see you smiling
Arms of love opened wide
Calling me from my corner
Telling me come inside

Only a little farther
Only a ways to go
Only a few more turnings
Child, you’re almost home
Child, you’re almost home

Breezes
July, 1987

Like a breeze upon my mind
Gentle, warm, soft and kind
Thoughts of you like gentle rain
Tap a simple touch refrain

Like a songbird on a hill
Song of joy warbled, trilled
So my heart once sang with ease
To a gentle summer breeze

Then the colours turned to autumn hues
Black the nights when I was wanting you
All my feelings tumbled into pain
Like a cold and freezing rain

Winter’s hold was chilling, cold
Blew the breeze, sad and old
In its howling, mocking way
All the music swept away

Then the sun began to shine again
Winter’s hold had finally come to end
Melting pain replaced by buds again
In the breeze of spring’s refrain

Now the breeze upon my mind
Gentle, warm, soft and kind
Brings the thoughts of you again
In a loving touch refrain.

Lonely Little Corner
July, 1987

Lonely little corner
Your are no one’s special friend
We walk on right beside you
But we do not bend
To clear away the scattered refuge
Take away the weeds
We leave you lone and ugly
We let you go to seed

Lonely little corner
Still you touch our way
With dainty little flowers
If we only stay
And pluck a handful of beauty
From upon your breast
You ask us for so little
And yet you give your best

The Plague Test:
Which is for Real?
A Spiritual Analogy
Summer, 1987

A plague infested a town and those who had not yet been infected locked their doors, fearing for their live. Among the well in the town were two men.

The first man was highly esteemed for his professional integrity and training. He had come from all the right family, studied at all the right schools and graduated with honours as a doctor of medicine. His expertise at surgery was a thing to marvel at. His bedside manner acclaimed. The best families in town flooded his office and soon his practice was booming.

Across town lives another man. Born of poor parents on the “wrong side of the tracks” his hope for medical training was only a pipe dream. Yet often he would meet a sick or wounded person unable to get to the doctor and he would help them as much as he could. He was looked down on by those with the “correct” understanding of medicine.

And so the time of plague came upon the town.

The first man checked his regular patients and finding most seemed well, he closed and locked his practice for all but his clientele feeling he must avoid any chance of infection for his work’s sake.

The other man, too, trembled within his house. He, too, knew the chances of infection, the risk of getting involved. But as he heard the crying and mourning that penetrated the walls of his house his heart began to break. With shaky hands, he opened his door and gave the best help he could to those who came. When his house could hold no more, he went to other houses ministering to other plague victims and many, under his care, were brought to health again.

Now tell me, which was the real physician?

New World Dictionary:
Physician: 1. a person licensed to practice medicine
2. any person or thing that heals, relieves or comforts

Leave a Reply

