R-E-S-(P-E-C-)T

Dedicated to TH (With apologies to Aretha)

IMG_1411    R-E-S-(p-e-c-)T

   (oo) What you want
(oo) Baby, I got
(oo) What you need
(oo) Do you know I got it?
(oo) All I’m askin’
(oo) Is for a little rest when I come home (just a little bit)
Hey baby (just a little bit) when I get home
just a little rest

R-E-S-(P-E-C)-T
Find out what it means to me
R-E-S-(P-E-C)-T
Take care, GSS*

A little rest (sock it to me, sock it to me,
sock it to me, sock it to me)
Whoa, babe (just a little bit)
A little rest (just a little bit)
I get tired (just a little bit)
When you come home (re, re, re ,re)
you might walk in (rest, just a little bit)
And find me sleeping (just a little bit)
I got to have (just a little bit)
A little rest (just a little bit)

coeuri soulbFor all you non sleepers out there, I want to let you know it’s time you give me a little respect. Yes, that’s right. I’m talking to you out there. It’s me, your ever loving naptime and I am getting tired of the way you pass me over in the business of your day. My cousin, A Good Night’s Sleep, is also miffed at how the changes in society are taking away the respect for what we have to offer you.

I know there is literature out there to get things back on track but with all the adventure and romance and highly exciting ideas, people are passing over that information to their detriment and ours. That’s right, you need a little rest and we need a little respect. So now it’s our turn to speak up for ourselves.

We got something you need, baby, ooooooo. You think that cranking through all the problems in the world is entertaining. Try this. Put an idea in your mind that you have been having difficulty with and then just drift off to sleep with that idea planted firmly. Don’t try to solve it with your waking mind. Send it inward to our think banks. We are in touch with all those inner parts of you that you are so busy blocking in the day. Our central servers will plug that information in and all those resources will come in to play. Sure, you have to sift through your catolgue to figure out what dueling hippos and missing bookcases mean but that just gives your waking mind something to do.

We also hold caches of some of those hormones and chemicals that your body needs to do its best during the day. Who cares what your names for them are. The important thing is that the rabbits and tortoises are as important as the problems of sheep. You need them to balance out your bodies mechanics. We know, we have to live in the muck when you forget to give us the respect we need.

girlSo here is our tip list on how to show us respect. It comes from our writer’s support network in her own problem with giving us the respect we deserve.

 • Choose a regular time for waking up. That’s where it begins. Start finding something regular and it starts with the morning.
• Let your bed be a place where you sleep so that you teach your body to rest while you are there. Hey, it’s okay to read a few pages of a book or so as long as you are the kind of person who knows how to set a limit and stop when you decided was right. Otherwise, keep the book by a reading chair so you make a conscience decision when to sleep.
• If something is keeping you from sleeping, make the conscience decision to get up and do something about it. Letting it roll around in your brain just shuts us down when you need us most.
 • Remember, we really are your friends. We will take all those my childhood 077ccreative ideas in your head and help do some of the underground work to get them rolling.

Do what you need to but get past your snooze allergies. Slowdown in your day. Find the places and the things that create peace in your head and rest. But don’t forget to include a bit of snoozing. We count too, you know.

*GSS – Get Some Sleep

6 thoughts on “R-E-S-(P-E-C-)T

  1. Melinda Lancaster

    I love this. So light-hearted yet so full of wisdom. I’m constantly sleep deprived and especially so since being ill. I think I’ll do today’s prompt (rest) rather than write about it.

    I agree with Denise, you are very creative!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

