ADD1 – “Write”

Soon after I wrote “Comfort Food”, I added these words as a “small stone” in another writing group.

Invited to write in a challenge

my heart leaped

my stomach turned in dread

would I need to remember

to go back beyond grief’s door…

but my heart said, “write”

and so I wrote

carefully skirting the paths

that would lead me back

Today the smell of sauerkraut

turned the key

memories flooding in

were not the images of grief

they were the memories

of a child enjoying

her daddy’s company while

the mixed flavours of a reuben

danced in her mouth.

Leave a Reply

